Abby goes to New York…and finds a home.

December 11, 2011

Long to Look

“Long to Look” found a home.

IAM (link on right) had a Small Works Auction in New York City.  I received an email from IAM and duly sent her on her way: “For the fourth year, IAM is hosting our Christmas Art Extravaganza, a raucous shindig where people buy raffle tickets, wait for their number to get called, and actually touch some art as they take down their favorite piece from the wall of honor.”

I always think that Artist’s Notes help. (Thank you, Christina): “This Titian-haired young Australian girl was once part of a larger work, however I found that others as well as myself were drawn to her to the exclusion of the other figures. Her deep-eyed expression of inquiry reminds me of a scripture from First Peter: the mystery of Christ, the gospel, has been revealed to us (‘things into which angels long to look’) and has been given to young girls like Abby.

‘It was revealed to them that they were not serving themselves, but you, in these things which now have been announced to you through those who preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven—things into which angels long to look.’
1 Peter 1:12″
3 Responses to “Abby goes to New York…and finds a home.”

  1. Steve Says:

    ‘where angels long to look…” I love where you have gone with your reverie on this image.

  2. Marjorie Miller Says:

    Hi Margaret,
    “Long to Look” ended up in my home, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada. I received it as a Christmas gift from my daughter who lives in NYC and whose roommate works at IAM. My daughter knew I had written our Christmas play at our church, “Heaven on Earth”. I had written it from an angelic perspective and used I Peter 1:12 as a springboard. The circle is complete.
    Happy New Year!
    Marjorie

  3. Suzannah Says:

    Well, what do you know? My little camera phone photo has taken wings.

    You caught her pale and interesting expression very well.


Leave a Reply

