August 9, 2013

IMG_4204

I painted this a few months ago and it’s taken me a little while to post it here because it isn’t quite finished. And, it never will be.

It was another one of  those working-to-a deadline paintings for an Exhibition.  In the end, it had to be delivered to the venue “as is”. I was confident that it would not sell and that I’d be able to complete it later. You may have guessed…I went back to get it after the closing and…it. was. gone.

On the one hand, I’m happy someone liked it.  I want people’s lives to be enriched in some way by my art. But there is this feeling, one I can’t shake:  I didn’t give the person/people who bought it my best.

I’m reminded of Colossians 3:23-24  (NIV)

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters” [or for myself] “since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”  Rewards aside, I really do want to put my whole heart into my work. In some small way the joy I feel in creation mirrors that of the Creator in us.

Leave a Reply

